About Me

Contact Info: annie (at) anniepoon.com, 631-721-5937, 433 W. 34th St. New York, NY 10001

View my complete animations on VIMEO.

View comics at OhPuppy.net

Hi Friends!

I am a painter-turned-animator, living and working in the city of my dreams, the big apple! I started animating in my last semester of art school at the School of Visual Arts where experimenting was very much encouraged. I am thankful for that!

I’m one of nine kids, (with a twin sister) and grew up in the sticks of Connecticut. I’m now married to a most excellent fashion photographer, Kah Leong Poon. We love to bounce ideas off each other and work on each other’s stuff. All my best gags come from Kah Leong!

Some organizations I’ve worked with include: The Museum of Modern Art, Brigham Young University, The Museum of Art and Design, The National Gallery, the Brooklyn Academy of Art, the Next Wave Festival, PBS, CBS, New York 1, the New Museum, Nickelodeon, the Kidsfilmfest, the Chicago International Children’s Film Festival, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, The Brooklyn Museum, Bonneville Communications, Snow College, Carrot Books, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Fred Flare, Pfizer, and Mormon Artist Group. My animations are in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art and the LDS church.

In addition to exhibiting my work I have taught animation and comics workshops to all ages 8 to 28 and love to give inspirational lectures to students and art aficionados. My favorite goals are to motivate and communicate.  To take something small and and make it blow up! The decision to work in film has a lot to do with the fact that you can make a million copies and still always have one for yourself. The more you share, the more you have. I just couldn’t bear to part with my paintings! So video and cartoons are the way for me.

My alter ego is an itty bitty cartoon character named ‘Puppy’ who is the subject of an enormous collection of comics and outside projects. Puppy is naive and passionate, always scheming and crushing on something or someone. He is an idealist like me and doesn’t know the meaning of ‘NO’. My heart always has a suit-case packed for Puppy wherever I go and I love to see the world through his eyes. I am forever thankful to Keith Carollo at Fred Flare.com who invited Puppy to contribute on a weekly basis to that website and really brought the little fellow into the world. Zing!

Puppy Celery


One Comment on “About Me”

  1. I was visiting with Glen Nelson last week and he mentioned your name. I was wondering if you would be interested in doing a visiting artist thing? Please email me and let me know what you think. Thank you, David


Leave a comment