Book Illustrations: Mormon’s at the Met

Finally I can tell you all about a wonderful project I worked on this summer with writer and bookmaker Glen Nelson. It’s called ‘Mormons at the Met’ and follows Glen’s personal passion for opera through an entire season at the Metropolitan Opera as he examines the performances of a group of LDS opera singers. This is a very fun book because Glen is so honest about his reactions to the performances, dissecting every moment from what it’s like to try to get tickets in the dawn rush, to moments when the singer just couldn’t reach that expected note, even describing deaths on the stage! I am still working my way through this book but would recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about Opera in the Big Apple.

Glen asked me to illustrate the book and I am posting the picture I did for each opera as well as some behind the scenes. He has created a beautiful collector’s edition with multimedia as well as an original drawing by myself, the crowning piece being a beautiful silk book hand bound by Glen with a recessed label for the title.

Anna Bolena

Manon

Siegfried

Das Rheingold

Khovanshchina

The Enchanted Island

Gottendammerung

Die Walkure



Leave a comment